These are a few of my favourite things – Christmas Edition

untitled-design-3

Hi there.

Happy Christmas Eve! Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to read this blog. I thought I would keep it simple this week by throwing together videos and people with  Christmas being the central theme.

The first of my favourites is the Birmingham-born poet and musician Benjamin Zephaniah.  I have included him because I find his poetry funny and thought-provoking.

You may recall that Talking Turkeys was a poem I used back in August. Being about turkeys, I thought it would be good to hear it again. Disclaimer: I cannot be held responsible for your failure to eat your turkey on Christmas Day due to the contents of the video!

For a reminder about my favourite poems, see https://pmnoblewrites.wordpress.com/2016/08/13/these-are-a-few-of-my-favourite-poems/

Okay so next on my list is a beautiful carol which I think sums up the real meaning of Christmas. O Holy Night sung by the ‘Queen of jazz’ Ella Fitzgerald takes us back to her roots in the church.

My next choice is a poem which I think has been cleverly written.  T’was the night before Christmas is a well-known children’s poem about A visit from St Nicholas, written by American writer and professor Clement Clarke Moore.

Last and by no means least is the final few moments of an animated version of a great Christmas story which has never lost its appeal over the years. A Christmas Carol was written by Charles Dickens and was first published in 1843.

Thank you for reading and sharing in this self- indulgent blog.

All that remains for me to say is I wish you peace and joy this Christmas.

Take care,

Tricia

Leave a comment