These are a few of my favourite… poems

open book on table uid 1185542

Hi there.

I hope that you are enjoying the lovely weather.  If not, why not? You do realise that this is England don’t you? The weather will be back to normal before you can say ‘rain stopped play.’

Now, this week I thought I would share four of my favourite poems.  It is a kind of continuation of the theme from last week for hard-working SMEs to relax and take a break. I know I know, easier said than done.

Okay, so if you can’t put your feet up and watch the Olympics or go off for a few days to Eastbourne (recommended), then take a few minutes out of your day and read (or watch) something that takes you away!

The first of my favourites is by the Welsh poet W.H. Davies (William Henry). It is called Leisure.  Here is the voice of the man himself on Youtube.

 

For more on the Life of W.H.Davies check out Wikipedia- https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/W._H._Davies

My next is a poem is one that a friend reminded me of recently, by the British poet and writer, Benjamin Zephaniah. To help you get into the Christmas spirit here is a poem called  Talking Turkeys.

To read more about this super-talented all-rounder, see benjaminzephaniah.com.

My third choice of poems is called Oh I wish I’d looked after my teeth by the English poet, songwriter and presenter Pam Ayres.

 

I grew up listening to Pam Ayres and was always fascinated with her clever use of words.   Check out her official website for more information- pamayres.com/

Last and by no means least is a poem by the legend that is Maya Angelou.  The African American Poet, writer and Civil Rights Activist wrote Still I rise.

For more about this extraordinary woman see, mayaangelou.com/.

Well, I hope you have enjoyed my choice of poetry as much as I have enjoyed finding them on Youtube. (Oh the joys of modern technology!).

Next week I may even share some of my own poetry.

Whatever it is you choose to do, enjoy!

Take care,

 

Tricia

One thought on “These are a few of my favourite… poems

Leave a Reply

