Humour me again!

Students hanging out at school uid 1343798

 

 

Hello there!

You may recall that last year I wrote about some of my favourite humour, and I mentioned the Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations, edited by Ned Sherin. Well I found the following article in The Spectator, quoting from the 2013 version of the Dictionary edited by Gyles Brandreth.

See http://www.spectator.co.uk/2013/09/the-oxford-dictionary-of-humorous-quotations-edited-by-gyles-brandreth/ for quotes such as:

I always wanted to be somebody, but now I realise I should have been more specific – Lilly Tomlin.

My first rule of consumerism is never buy anything you can’t make your children carry- Barack Obama.

Someone who always make me giggle is Tim Vine. He is the king of one-liners and if like me you love these types of jokes, The Biggest ever Time Vine Joke book is for you. Here is a taster:

Dot dot do.Dash dash dash, I really do regret that. Remorse code.

I’ve got a friend who’s a very tall blade of grass. He’s easily swayed.

This bloke said to me, he said I live in the sky with a Swiss clock. I said you’re in cloud cuckoo land.

I also came across this quote:

A celebrity is someone who works hard all his life to become well known, then wears dark glasses to avoid being recognised.

Written by an American comedian called Fred Allen this can be found on a website called Quotegarden.com. See, http://www.quotegarden.com/humorous.html.

We all need to laugh, so I hope that you enjoyed this very brief trip down comedy close.

I must add this footnote to say that I was saddened to hear of the loss of the talented writer, actress and comedian Caroline Aherne. She leaves behind award winning comedies and the memorable characters of Mrs Merton and Denise Royle.

Take care,

Tricia

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

