Brexit -What next?

Silhouette of man yelling into a bullhorn uid 1272227

Hi there.

I had it all planned. A nice safe blog to lighten the mood in anticipation of the results of the European Union Referendum. Well, that is on hold, as I felt that I should write the follow-up to Brexit- A different perspective?

When I wrote that blog, there is no way that I thought the UK would vote to leave the EU.  I knew it would be a close result, but nothing prepared me for the disbelief and disappointment that I felt on Friday morning.

Two weeks ago I stated that I was not going  to get political, but wanted to address the topic of the moment .Well, this subject is set to run for a while and whether we like it or not we are all involved in politics. From the minute you exercise your right to vote, you are involved.

The UK has voted. David Cameron has resigned. The value of the pound has fallen. Scotland is going for another vote for independence.

So what now?  Well, the strange thing is, no one knows what’s going to happen. Neither the leave nor remain camp know. There are speculations about which EU country will follow suit and have a referendum to leave the EU- Nexit.

The articles I mentioned in the blog two weeks ago posed concerns which are yet to be addressed. The effects on small business owners, education and those on a lower wage, may not be felt straight away, but I am certain there be will an impact.

So how did we get here? How on earth was it possible to make a decision without knowing the long term implications of leaving membership of this union which has not been voted for since 1975?

What is great about Great Britain (do people say Great Britain anymore?) is that it is a country which allows freedom of speech, so everyone is entitled to their own opinion. We have seen those opinions expressed, and in this case, acted upon.   It is unfortunate though that we all have to live with the consequences of a decision that was made by some and not all of the voting population.

I cannot say much more other than we will all have to watch and wait to see how this unfolds and if you have the inclination to pray for the UK and Europe, I suggest you do so now.

Take care,

 

 

One thought on “Brexit -What next?

Leave a Reply

