Do What You Love! (Part 4)

wrapped gift uid 1176612

Hi there,

Well, here it is the final part of Do What You Love and I am so excited about bringing you an assortment of poetry all gift wrapped.

Last week I wrote about classical music and how music and poetry go hand in hand. Well, this week has a snippet of music again, but from a different genre.

Alas! I could go and on but really I must not,

to write a few pages must definitely be my lot!

Okay, how does the Oxford Dictionary define poetry?  According to them it is:

‘Literary work in which the expression of feelings and ideas is given intensity by the use of distinctive style and rhythm; poems collectively or as a genre of literature:’

So poetry is in all genres of music, it is spoken word, plays, it is in advertising, and it is in the Bible.  It is everywhere and if you are not into poetry, then you may as well get rid of any forms of media that you have access to.

If like me you do love poetry, then you are in the right place, for two reasons:

  • You are being encouraged to Do What You Love and
  • It’s Valentine’s Day tomorrow, so what a perfect excuse for musings about love.

Let me start with a line from some beautiful poetry found in Song of Solomon 1, verse 2 in The Bible.

 Let him kiss me with the kisses of his mouth: for thy love is better than wine.

The first selection to wet your whistle is from one of the World’s best-known playwrights – William Shakespeare.

Doubt thou the stars are fire, Doubt that the sun doth move. Doubt truth to be a liar, But never doubt I love.

Taken from Act 2, Scene 2 in Hamlet, see https://learnodo-newtonic.com/famous-hamlet-quotes, which explains, ‘these lines are spoken by Polonius while he reads to Gertrude, Hamlet’s letter to Ophelia.’

There is a reoccurring theme in Shakespeare’s writings involving tragic love stories, so here is something a bit lighter from his Sonnet 18.

Another household name who was a prolific writer and poet was Maya Angelou. Like Shakespeare, her work always seems to be bitter -sweet.  The following is taken from Touched by an Angel.

We are weaned from our timidity
In the flush of love’s light
we dare be brave
And suddenly we see
that love costs all we are
and will ever be.
Yet it is only love
which sets us free.

I could spend all day on the work of  Shakespeare and Maya Angelou, but I have to move on and introduce something different, yet still poetic.

Whatever your musical tastes, poetry is in Rap and R&B as much as it is Country and Western, and in Popular chart music. There may be some who would disagree about the poetic content of such songs but according to the definition of poetry, there is as much intensity and story-telling in some of these songs as in a Shakespearean tragedy.

Here is an example from Hurt by Drake.

So hard to breathe this air that we call love,
Aint nothing worse than the hurt we receive from love,
When you get hurt by the one you living for,
Pain can make you wanna love no more.

And  from Common on his album Be, about his childhood.

How beautiful love can be

on the streets love is hard to see

It’s a place I got to be

Loving you is loving me.

Now for the die-hard romantics, this video is  a must. For me, Robert Burns captures the essence of a classic love poem.

 

 

I think it’s time that we changed gear again with Pam Ayres. Now for those below a certain age who have no idea who she is, then you will have to take my word for it when I say that she was well known in the 1980s and 1990s.  She is still going strong today and this poem is called If You Gave Me a Diamond, from her new collection called You Made Me Laugh Again.

If you gave me a diamond as big as a rock, apart from the fact that I would pass out from shock,

I’d fear I would lose it, or burglars would reap it, so all things considered, I think you should keep it.

If all of these wonderful words has not inspired you to Do What You Love and write some poetry for someone you care about, then check out,

http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/topics/topic_valentinesday.html#BdLZJavb0cZvPvpc.9 for more inspiring words.

So all that remains for me now is to end with one of  my own major works. It is so romantic that I will happily allow everyone to use it tomorrow.

I love you because you’re smart, I love you because you’re funny,

But why is it since I met you, I seem to have no money!

Take care and remember to always Do What You Love and share the love – every day, not just on Valentine’s Day.

Tricia

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Do What You Love! (Part 4)

Leave a Reply

