Keep Calm and Smile!

xaCzLH

Hi there.

With less than a week to go before Christmas, I thought I would throw a few one liners your way, to add some more Christmas cheer. Sorry Bah Humbug folk, next week I will be focussing on the coming year, with more serious stuff.

So now, let us begin.

Twitter is great for news and information, but if you want a little chuckle or a giggle, there are some real gems. I recently came across Steve Nielson’s tweet:

‘RT @NotoriousWomen

Instead of ‘lol’ (laughing out loud) I use ‘lqtm’ (laughing quietly to myself). It’s so much more dignified.’

This made me smile, along with a few other alternative definitions of everyday words from his site, musicalpearls.com/glossary/.

Some of the terms, may not be to everyone’s taste, but never the less they are very clever. With a whole dictionary to choose from, I could be here all day, so here are a few from the beginning that made me giggle:

Acne – A borough in North London

Adolescence – A time when you think you’ll never be as stupid as your parents

Agog – A half- finished Jewish place of worship

Archaeologist – Someone whose career lies in ruins

Burglarize – what a crook sees with

Cashew – the sound a nut makes when it sneezes

From Twitter,‘And there’s more’:

Real Marsha Wright ‏@marshawright,

“I am so clever that sometimes I don’t understand a single word of what I am saying.” Oscar Wilde.

Rodney Dangerfield ‏@DangerfieldSez,

“I haven’t spoken to my wife in years. I didn’t want to interrupt her.” Rodney Dangerfield.

A website that I refer to often is http://www.brainyquote.com. They have a really good mixture of quotes from all sorts of folks. Here are a few:

We are all here on earth to help others; what on earth the others are here for I don’t know. W H Auden.

One advantage of talking to yourself is that you know at least somebody’s listening. Franklin P Jones.

Get your facts first, then you can distort them as you please. Mark Twain.

Hope you enjoyed this quick jaunt, and please join me next week.

Now all  that remains for me to say is,

untitled

Take care,

 

Tricia

Leave a Reply

