Love What You Do!

imagesCHT8H62X

Hi there,

I hope that you have not been working too hard and have tried to have some sort of work- life -balance. This is of course easier said than done. These next few weeks will either see folks winding down, or being wound up! Stress levels can get seriously high!

Being in a job you dislike, or having a career which was not planned is for some the cause of the stress. Now I am no stress expert, but I just want to comment this week about why we should ‘love what we do.’ Some of what I have to say will be reiterated in a New Year blog in a couple of weeks’ time.

Now when I say ‘love what you do’ I am not trying to be patronising. I live in the real world where there are bills to pay and mouths to feed, so for the majority, they have a job that pays for those essential aspects of life, irrespective as to whether they enjoy it or not.

Why this blog, then? Well, because I have learnt the hard way that if you do not enjoy what you do, then you won’t necessarily do a very good job.

I am a hard worker and always endeavour to do my best, but if my heart isn’t in it, then I fall short of my own expectations.

I am not telling everyone to run out and set up companies based on what they love doing. Of course, if it is moral and legal, and you can why not? But if it is not realistic then, all I can say is try to find some aspect of the work you do enjoyable. Finding some positives about what you do will help you get through your day. If you hate your job, because it has too much responsibility or does not pay you enough, think about doing something completely different.

I can almost hear a cry of, ‘Well that’s easy for you to say!’ Actually, it isn’t. I have had to make decisions about how I want to make a living, which has meant earning less, in order to have a less stressful life.  I am not alone, there are many talented, hard- working people who are not doing the jobs that others (close to them) think they should be doing. They have made decisions based on convenience and of course taking on roles which have allowed for a better work-life-balance.

According to an article called 60 per cent of UK workers not happy in their jobs, by Investors in people:

‘Lack of job satisfaction is being cited as the number one reason for the desire to change roles, with almost half (48 per cent) believing they would be more satisfied elsewhere.’

Professor Andrew Oswald from the University of Warwick and team found that:

“… human happiness has large and positive causal effects on productivity,”… “Positive emotions appear to invigorate human beings, while negative emotions have the opposite effect.” The Guardian, see http://www.theguardian.com › Science › Psychology

Also in The Telegraph:

‘In simple terms, happy people were 12 per cent more productive than “normal” people.’ See http://www.telegraph.co.uk › News › Shopping and consumer news.

I started out wanting to make a brief point about finding a way to ‘love what you do’ and here I am ending with statistics. Well, statistics are not everything as they be used in all sorts of ways, but you will know whether what you are doing is right for you.

I hope that this has given you something to think about and that you find a way to Love What You Do!

Take care,

Tricia

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Love What You Do!

Leave a Reply

