Humour Me!

Hi there!

It’s the end of October, the clocks gone back, the evenings are now getting darker earlier, so to cheer us up with a bit of witty repartee, I thought I would share two of my favourite amusing finds.

Now I know there will be a few who won’t crack a smile, but that’s okay, because humour is subjective after all. Whatever I write may send folks running to the hills, or make them frown as they disagree that humour isn’t subjective!

Well, never mind about that- just humour me!

The Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations, edited by Ned Sherrin, has a good selection of little gems. Here are a few to be getting on with, from the categories of words and languages:

How do you spell ‘accelerator ‘? I’ve been all through the blasted ‘Ex’s’ in the bloody dictionary. Anonymous related by Dennis Potter (1993)

Man does not live by words alone, despite the fact that he sometimes has to eat them. Adlai Stevenson 1900 – 65. The wit and wisdom of Adlai Stevenson (1965)

This is the sort of English up with which I will not put. Winston Churchill 1874 – 1965.  Ernest Gowers Plain words (1948) ‘Troubles with Prepositions.’

Speak in French when you can’t think of the English for a thing. Lewis Carroll 1832 – 98. Through the Looking Glass.

For more of these delightful quips, you’ll either have to invest in a copy of the dictionary for yourself or patronise your local library. By patronise I don’t mean that you should be rude to the staff, just go and support your library, find a copy and flick though it in the reference section.

Another of my favourite funny reads is a bit of a guilty pleasure, the award-winning column in Shortlist Magazine called Danny Wallace is a Man. Surprisingly it is written by Danny Wallace.

According to search information about Shortlist’s Facebook page, it is ‘Britain’s largest upmarket men’s magazine,’ and Wikipedia also says, ‘The magazine has the biggest circulation of any men’s lifestyle magazine in Britain.’ So it’s a guilty pleasure because I am not an upmarket man, and I certainly don’t read it for men’s lifestyle tips.

As much as I feel guilty, I very much doubt that I am the only female who has a chuckle at the cleverly written observations by Danny Wallace. To quote any of his work would not do them justice, so all I can say is grab yourself a copy of Shortlist, which is out every Thursday.

I hope that you have enjoyed this brief jog through a subject which shows intelligence does not always mean serious.

Take care,

Tricia

Leave a Reply

