Homonym or homophone?

Hello there!

Let me start with a question? When is a homophone not a homophone? Well, apparently when it’s a homonym. Oh No! I hear the eagle-eyed grammar brigade cry, ‘they are not the same!’

Affect and effect are examples of homonyms, and Allowed and aloud are homophones.

So basically homonyms are words that sound alike but may be spelt differently and have a different meaning while homophones sound the same, can sometimes be spelt the same, and have different meanings.

As I said in my last blog I am not the definitive expert on English Grammar, but I love English, therefore, anything I write on this blog is purely my opinion.

There are fantastic websites out there such as:

https://www.grammarly.com/

www.bbc.co.uk/skillswise/English

www.grammar-monster.com

yourdictionary.com

www.theschoolrun.com

http://www.thesaurus.com

There are of course many more great websites, and if you are ever unsure about one particular website, then do a quick internet search to find others and compare the information on each.

You may think that you do not have time to search and compare, however if you want what you write to be of a good standard, that extra time is well spent. After all, you want people to remember what you wrote, for the right reasons.

Also, remember folks that this blog won’t always be about Grammar, I may discuss what is going on in the news or as an unpublished writer, I may throw a few stories or poems into the mix.

All I can say is watch this space!

Thanks for reading.

Tricia

Leave a Reply

